Role of Town Councillors

There are 12 Town Councillors representing the two wards in Keswick – East and West. Elections for all 12 seats on the Town Council are held every four years, with the next election due to take place in May 2027. As Keswick Town Council is sole trustee of Fitz and Hope Parks, all Town Councillors also act as Trustees of the parks.

A Town Councillor’s role is varied and includes:

  • Acting as a representative for residents and bringing their views to the Council’s decision making process both on matters relating to Town Council services and on general issues affecting the town.
  • Participating in the governance, policy setting and strategic management of the Council through work on committees and as a Member of Council.
  • Responding to residents’ enquiries and representations.
  • Representing the Council on other bodies.

Keswick Town Councillors are not paid for their work as Members of the Town Council.

Keswick Town Councillors by Ward

East Ward – Louise Dunn, Stephen Harwood, Sally Lansbury, Jean Murray, Tim Parsons, Lorraine Taylor
West Ward – Chris Houghton, Claire Houghton, Denstone Kemp, Benita Lapthorn, Rob Nelson

Louise Dunn

Denstone Kemp

Tim Parsons

Steve Harwood

3 Browfoot,
Keswick. CA12 4LQ
Tel: 017687 80708

Sally Lansbury

The Grange, Manor Brow
Keswick, CA12 4BA
Tel: 078779 71609

Chris Houghton

Benita Lapthorn

Lorraine Taylor

Claire Houghton

Jean Murray

33 Wordsworth Street
Keswick, CA12 4BZ
Tel: 017687 75078